Favorite Halter

I have tons of stuff I’ve made before I started documenting it here, so I figured I would post some of it to make up for my sporadic posting.

This pattern (Simplicity 3823) has been one of my favorites for a long time. I’ve made a few dresses from it.

The pattern calls for boning in the back, but I skipped it. Instead, I had to take the back in A LOT. I’m not sure if this is normal for skipping boning in patterns or not. The most frustrating part is adding the pleats in the straps and skirt–my favorite part of making dresses is seeing them come together into a dress, and doing all the intricate stuff first makes me impatient!

I took pictures while making the purple dressier one, which I’ve worn twice–once to a semi-formal thing, and once to a wedding. 

It was my first attempt at an invisible zipper! I would definitely recommend the pattern, but don’t make it the first pattern you ever use. With the purple one, I should have lined it in a different lining fabric… the bubbly stuff doesn’t make a good doubled up fabric. Here are those pictures:

One thought on “Favorite Halter

Leave a Reply

