Stitch Upon A Time Brazi – Cross Front Modification

This pattern is a real winner in the world of sewing, nursing moms. The original pattern has a sports bra style top that can be used to make a bra alone or to make a dress. The separately purchased cross front modification makes the whole thing easy access for nursing! The original pattern and the modification are available at http://stitchuponatime.com.

I’ve made both the dress and bra version, including a bathing suit top, as well as a modified reversible nursing tank version. When I make the tank, I make the back a single piece of fabric, so I don’t stitch the elastic in place. I just tack it in the middle.

I have found that I need to size down based on my measurements to get a bit to get a good fit (I measure myself, look at the size chart, and then make a size smaller). The difference between the D cup and above and the below D cup is really big, and making the larger cup size with a smaller size doesn’t seem to turn out too well, at least if you’re borderline D cup. I really want to get some Supplex to make some decent sports bras with the pattern, too!

The bra version matches my peg legs. It is reversible, and I also have another pair of matching peg legs. I’ll post them together when I get around to taking pictures 🙂 Don’t worry, I wore a shirt on top – I didn’t go out covered from heat to toe in a pink and orange explosion!

DSC_4457
Brazi sports bra to match my peg legs!
DSC_4455
Brazi sports bra to match my peglegs!

The nursing tanks are both reversible, and they were baby shower gifts for friends. I still haven’t gotten around to making myself a tank, but with summer coming, I want to.

Reversible nursing tank
Reversible nursing tank
DSC_3157
Reversible nursing tank black on the other side)

The black/blue/white dress with the circles was my first foray into this pattern. I extended the waistband on my second – the teal top with the orchid and white chevron bottom.

Brazi dress #1 in my cluttered sewing room
Brazi dress #1 in my cluttered sewing room
Brazi
Brazi dress
Reversible Brazi top swimsuit (self drafted bottoms based on my favorite underwear)
Reversible Brazi top swimsuit (self drafted bottoms based on my favorite underwear)
image
Reversible Brazi top swimsuit, self-drafted bottoms based on my favorite underwear. Just need to remember to reapply the sunscreen to avoid Brazi tan lines 🙂

The one skill I’m still working on mastering is attaching elastic to my seam allowances. Mine are NOT great by any measure.

One thought on “Stitch Upon A Time Brazi – Cross Front Modification

Leave a Reply

