Christmas dresses in stretch velvet

I made mommy and me Christmas dresses using stretch velvet from Zenith & Quasar. This stuff was awesome! These dresses turned out great, and photos don’t do them justice because it’s really hard to capture the velvet in a picture. They’re not actually shiny, and they’re a bit of a deeper/darker, less blue purple.

My dress has a fitted bodice (my standard fitted top pattern, originally based off of the Patterns for Pirates Layer Me Up top, but heavily modified at this point) and a half circle skirt attached ~1″ below the waist. AND it’s nursing-friendly, using this approach I described here.

For the toddler dress, I just traced her tightest fitting long sleeve t-shirt and modified it to have a boat neck neckline, and I attached a half circle skirt at the waist. I also made her a matching hair bow!20166488a_1

20166482a
Hidden nursing access where I’m pointing
20166481a
Modesty panel inside!
20166279a
Most color-representative picture
20166264a
Flash on for this one – not the best representation of the fabric
Bow in the toddler’s hair!
Leave a Reply

