Perfecting a Pattern: P4P Slim Fit Raglan

I’ve been working on building a sloper set that I can use to come up with just about anything I want to wear. Most recently, I’ve been using the Patterns for Pirates Slim Fit Raglan (SFR) to develop a raglan-sleeve knit sloper and a general slim fit sloper. I applied the same alterations I perfected for my fitted tee sloper with set sleeves (derived from the Patterns for Pirates Layer Me Up top, or LMU for short), and then I made a few more modifications. My most recent version is nursing friendly with a stay-put modesty/chest warmth panel (meaning I don’t have to lift anything up at all for nursing access), and I’ve updated my tutorial for side zipper access with a modesty panel at the zippers with some pictures I took while making it.

Here’s round one: pre-muslin alterations based only on the LMU. Sleeve and front fabric from an old tshirt that I have duplicates of, back is cotton spandex from The Purple Seamstress.

Here’s round two: I took the pattern in considerably from the waist down, mainly along the center back. It’s still a much looser fit than the LMU (no negative ease), but it’s more fitted than the original pattern. I also modified the front raglan seam to add back a little of what I took out in the pre-muslin stage. This one fits great! Front is a nice 220ish GSM cotton spandex, sleeves and back are a mystery fabric that I thought was cotton spandex but only has 2-way stretch and a brushed or fleecy backside (from The Fabric Fairy).

img_9432
Here’s round three: This one is nursing friendly, with invisible zippers at the raglan seams and a stay-put modesty/chest warmth panel. I didn’t like the looser fit with the stripes, so I ended up taking it in from the bust down, following my fitted tee sloper (LMU) instead of this slim fit sloper (SFR). Fabric is from The Purple Seamstress, all cotton spandex. Here’s the tutorial for this style of nursing access, and here’s the roundup of all my nursing friendly favorites (all top access and babywearing friendly).

One thought on “Perfecting a Pattern: P4P Slim Fit Raglan

Leave a Reply

